'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint  wip

soap etc., at the printmaking studio

While I was at the printmaking studio several weeks ago playing with colour, I was also working on a new creatures-in-jars-on-shelves print. Creatures-in-jars seem to be a bit of an ongoing obsession for me and since making my first ‘Curiosity Cabinet‘ screenprint over four years ago (where does the time go!) I have continued to draw new creatures, many of which I have made into little, individual screenprints. But for some time now I have had a hankering to fill a second cabinet with some of these new creatures – nothing happens too quickly in my world, but I finally got around to filling that second cabinet…

'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint  wip

exposed screen  |  pile o’ prints printed

'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint  wip

tentacles!

'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint  wip

cleaning/reclaiming the screen
(one of my favourite parts of the process)

'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint  wip

squeaky clean screen… ready for a new project!

'Curiosity Cabinet II' screenprint

‘Curiosity Cabinet II’

The resultant prints are one colour (velvety black) silkscreen prints made in a limited edition of 44. They’re available at the wonderful Otherist store in Amsterdam, and now in my Etsy shop… if it’s pickled tentacles you’re lacking in your life you know where to go!