Autumn came to an abrupt end here in Amsterdam this past weekend with the first snowfall and insistent sub-zero temperatures. It was unquestionably stay-indoors weather so I took the opportunity to do a long overdue sort of a big batch of postcards acquired over the past several months (I’m a voracious collector of postcards – I didn’t set out to be a postcard collector, I just don’t seem to be able to visit a gallery or museum without buying a fistful when I leave. Filing them in an accessible way for future reference and inspiration seems like a good idea but I seldom get/make the time to do it… so I was glad for the inclement-weather-induced opportunity!).

Filed! (by approximate subject)

From ‘animals vol.2’ – two beautiful calico cat portraits by Gwen John
(c.1904-08, pencil & watercolour on paper)

While sorting this batch I came across these three images that beautifully capture the light and tonal qualities of a northern European autumn (one I’m already nostalgic for as I Michelin Man myself up with yet another layer, and watch the white stuff fall outside).

Christen Købke, Autumn Evening, Frederiksborg Castle in the Middle Distance (detail), 1837-38  |  Oil on canvas, 25.5 x 35.5 cm

Egon Schiele, Autumn Tree in the Wind, 1912
Oil on canvas, 80 x 80.5 cm

John Everett Millais, Dew-Drenched Furze, 1889-99
Oil on canvas, 170.2 x 121.9 cm