A week or so ago I spent a few days in the printmaking studio working on a new set of small, individual ‘Curiosity Cabinet’ prints. There were very few people at work in the studio on the days I was there but there was still a very palpable buzz of antecedent creativity… in the multicoloured ink spots on the door handles and around the ink-mixing area (vibrant remnants of a million past projects)…

in the pleasingly structural patterns created by the drying racks and stacked screens…

and in the other-worldly, sulphuric glow cast by the daylight block-out windows in the coating and clean-up room…

I love to see the crisp, completed prints stack up…

but I’m also equally enamoured with the ‘distressed’ quality of the image negatives on the screen when the printing stage is completed and it’s time to strip the exposed emulsion and reclaim the screen…

and especially as they dissolve back into ghostly nothingness…

During this session I printed six individual creatures in a limited edition of 30 prints each. These wriggly, squiggly, spiny, slippery fellows make up ‘Series 1’ in my ongoing series (I just cannot stop drawing them!) of ‘Wonders from a Cabinet of Curiosities’, and they can now all be found in my etsy shop if you’d like to start your own curiosity cabinet collection. They can be acquired individually or as a complete set of six.

I’ve already finished drawing the ‘Series 2’ creatures… and I can’t wait to get back into the studio to print them!

Inky fingers are indeed happy fingers :)