‘work-in-progress’ papercut, taped to my studio window

I’ve been having lots of papercutting fun recently, particularly as the sun streams across my desk illuminating the paper fibres and textures, enhancing the paper’s innate translucency, and casting beautiful and intriguing shadows through the partial cuts.

The cuts pictured here are work-in-progress shots of part of something I’ve been working on, and with a little bit of help from the sun took on new and unexpected forms.
The below cut brought to mind the discarded skin of some sort of slithering or aquatic creature…

And this one, a journey through space or an interdimensional portal…

When I start to work on something I usually have a clear(ish) idea in mind of what I intend the finished piece to be/look like. But so often I find the work-in-progress states are much more interesting than the finished thing itself… hm, there must be something to be learnt from this! :)