I popped across the road to my local Inspiration Emporium (a.k.a. the small zoological museum at Artis) a few days ago, armed with my camera and sketchbook.

While I find these creature displays infinitely fascinating and inspirational they also fill me with a deep sense of melancholy I can’t quite put my finger on… something to do with humanity’s desire to catalogue and control and what that implies. There’s the need to try to understand and bring order to a complex and chaotic world, but there is also an inherently destructive element to it (an impulse which seems to be, in greater or smaller measure, in all human beings). And I think it’s this that makes me feel a little sad…

But despite, or perhaps entirely because of, my mixed feelings about these things I know exactly what I’ll be drawing more of this weekend! Whatever you’re up to I hope you have a good one.