A wonderful shop in Amsterdam is now stocking some of my limited edition ‘Curiosity Cabinet’ silkscreen prints. This is very exciting for me – not only because it is the first time I have had my artwork for sale in an actual bricks & mortar shop, but because the Otherist is without a doubt my favourite shop in Amsterdam! I remember when I first went in to it, just over two years ago after having recently moved to the city from London, and feeling as though I had walked in to a little slice of my own personal paradise. It is a veritable treasure trove of beautiful, inspiring, enchanting and intriguing objects; functional, decorative, and everything in between.

In the words of the shop’s creators: “The Otherist is our version of the Cabinet of Curiosities. It’s our chance to scour the globe in search of items that wow and amaze, and hopefully inspire. We seek the exceptional; the memorable; the unconventional; the other, and gather a collection of merchandise that highlights the stunning talent of artists and designers from around the world. Our focus is on the uniquely handmade, the one-of-a-kind and difficult to find. Much like the old Wunderkammers, our collection is an ever-changing and oft-difficult to classify assortment bounded only by our own aesthetic.” (excerpted from the Otherist’s website)

It really is a wunderkammer and I am thrilled and honoured to be a little part of it. It’s like a very special early Christmas present… and if I hadn’t already been feeling thoroughly spoiled after my recent birthday I would’ve splashed out on this very handsome fellow when I was in the shop dropping off my prints on Friday:

Isn’t he beautiful?

If you’re ever visiting Amsterdam make sure you have the Otherist on your list of places to visit. And if you’re in Amsterdam now, I have no doubt in my mind that a visit to the Otherist will solve any remaining Christmas gift giving dilemmas you may still be having :)

You can find the Otherist at Leliegracht 6, 1015DE, Amsterdam (but whatever you do, hands off the owl… he’s mine :)