negative shape

I’ve been doing a bit of papercutting and, as is so often the case, cannot decide which I prefer – the intended cut shape or the ‘negative’ shape offcuts. Both have their appeal, but the negative shapes are somehow more intriguing and mysterious. No doubt because their form always comes as an unexpected surprise to me when cutting is complete (and I like the shadows they cast!).

negative shape

positive shapes

Positive is obviously good too, and I wanted to take this opportunity to say ‘thanks’.

I was thrilled to sell all of the prints and cards I’d put into my new Etsy shop within 10 days of listing them, so if you bought one of them or you’ve left me encouraging comments and you’re reading this – thank you! Your support is much appreciated and has given me some much needed confidence to continue to pursue this art-lark and to make more stuff! (In the meantime, while I get on with making more stuff, I have listed a few more of the Curiosity Cabinet limited edition screenprints and cards on Etsy).

Now, back to those negative-positive shapes…

negative shape

positive shape

positive shape

Thanks again, and have a fun weekend!