'nest' bowl

A little nest, a gift for a friend: white porcelain bowl hand-painted with porcelain paint (Talens Decorfin – this stuff is lovely to use, the viscosity is just right for painting on awkward/curved/sloped surfaces and it’s beautifully opaque, it is fixed by simple heat-setting in an ordinary oven, and is apparently ‘dishwasher safe’ after fixing (I still have to test this claim) – it couldn’t be simpler to use).

I struggled to find pleasingly shaped ‘blank’ porcelain at a reasonable price – if it’s cheap the shapes are usually heavy, clumsy, thick rimmed, and if it’s a highly pleasing shape it’s usually highly priced (and not something I’d be inclined to paint on!). So I was very happy when I chanced upon Dille & Kamille in Haarlem where I found quite an extensive range of reasonably priced and pleasingly shaped white porcelain just waiting to be turned in to nests etc.

The fact that Dille & Kamille “strive to operate with care and respect for the environment”, and so try to stock products that support this aim, made this little assortment of blank white bowls all the more appealing.

blank porcelain... waiting to be painted

Dark January days, and their monochromatic lighting, have given this photo a pleasing Morandi-esque quality

I haven’t decided yet what I’ll paint on these. The intertwined ‘twigs ‘n fibres’ of the nest bowl were a lot of fun to paint (if a little tricky at times!) but it was a very time-consuming process. I would like to work towards creating a design that has a similar feeling of detail and density… but doesn’t take me quite such a long time to complete! Or I’d like more hours in the day please (as ‘Gang of Four’ sang on their album ‘Entertainment!’, “Please send me evenings and weekends”…).