felled tree trunk stumps?

I am finding making these ‘elemental drawings’ absolutely addictive! (Although I suppose I’m not really making them… the weather is). Here is No.3 in the series, mentioned last week and using coffee and charcoal as the raw materials. I like the clearly defined and stippled circles (made by the ‘coffeepods’) amidst all the chaos. With the introduction of specific shapes these essentially abstract ‘drawings’ open themselves up to more figurative interpretations. I see lots of things in No.3…

The image above brings to mind an aerial view of the aftermath of some kind of slash-and-burn deforestation.

And then there are Tatooine‘s twin suns…

twin suns

A diffuse nebula, an interstellar cloud of galactic dust?…

disintegration

And something terribly important happening at a cellular level?…

cellular activity?

 

I have one final (m-must… end… addiction) ‘drawing’ brewing on the roof – it includes red wine, chocolate and candle wax.

I’m (optimistically) hoping for a bit of warm(ish) sunshine between now and the end of the 96 hours so the chocolate might melt again and morph into new shapes and greasy textures – but I fear one of Amsterdam’s gigantic mean-spirited seagulls will make off with it before that can happen! (They’re rumoured to have an insatiable appetite for chocolate and never say no to a snifter of red wine).