Thank you to everyone who left comments on my previous post. I think the fabric is growing on me, and your comments have certainly helped me to see it with a less critical eye. For those of you who expressed an interest I’ll be sure to let you know if there are any scraps going begging once I’ve finished making the things I plan to make with it :-)

drawing dirt

Over the past couple of weeks I have been working on a series of ‘above & below the earth’ / ‘cross-section’ drawings. I’ve been drawing minute particles of earth, and in some instances individual grains of sand, which is both completely insane and very addictive! Also time consuming (hence my first mentioning these drawings over two weeks ago and only returning to them here now).

These are the three completed drawings (I’m still working on a fourth) hanging on a line in my studio…

drawing dirt 'triptych'

and some dirt details (I could draw this stuff forever – it’s like a moving meditation)…

drawing dirt

drawing dirt

The drawings are ±A3 size but unfortunately my scanner is only A4 – once I’ve figured out how to scan and stitch them back together most effectively (it could prove tricky trying to match up those grains of sand where the two scanned halves meet!) I’ll upload some larger images of the completed drawings…