I have (finally!) revisited the curiosity cabinet / specimen drawings I was working on before I went away for the month of April, and have been playing around with the 13 completed specimen drawings to create a repeat pattern design. I’ve felt a little bit like an obsessive-compulsive mad scientist, arranging, stacking and re-arranging the specimen jars on their shelves…

specimens on shelves

This is a first pass of the design (the scale is larger but I’ve reduced it here to indicate the ‘repeat’):

Curiosity Cabinet pattern design

I’d love to be able to have it printed on to fabric, but I feel the design is way too complex to, for example, stencil or blockprint and I don’t currently have access to the equipment (or the necessary skills) to screenprint the design myself. If there’s anyone reading this who knows of somewhere in Amsterdam that offers a (shortish run) fabric screenprinting service, or that generally offers printmaking assistance to visual artists & designers, I’d be grateful to hear from you!

I’m eager to make up some samples of things to see how this design might work in practice – I think it could make pretty cool cushion covers, or book/tote bags, or a duvet cover (hmm, creepy!)…