I’m back home in Amsterdam after (just short of) four wonderful weeks in sunny Cape Town and surrounds. I didn’t intend to neglect things here quite so thoroughly but somehow sitting down at a computer very quickly became very low priority… funny that.

Waves at sunset, Cape Columbine

wild waves at sunset, cape columbine, west coast

Dassie surveys his domain, Table Mountain

dassie surveys his domain, table mountain, cape town

Protea

protea

Spiderweb, top of Platteklip Gorge, Table Mountain

spider’s web, top of platteklip gorge, table mountain

I took lots (lots!) of photos and as always on return visits to my old hometown was awestruck by (and found daily inspiration in) the sheer beauty and rich natural diversity of the place.

Many thanks to family and friends for your hospitality and fun times!

Cape Point

cape point (the actual ‘point’ is a little over to the left and out of shot)

Sunset shadows at \'Emoyeni\'

sunset shadows at “emoyeni”, paternoster, west coast

waterfront wildlife (waiting for their ship to come in?), cape town

Cape Point Nature Reserve

cape point nature reserve

Over the coming days I will post more of the photos taken and other musings on my trip, while I ease back in to the swing of things here (Spring arrived while I had my back turned!) and ‘refamiliarise’ myself with the various projects I left behind a month ago.

If I owe you an email – sorry! I’m in the process of trying to conquer my Inbox and will reply as soon as possible.

\'X\' at Maclear\'s Beacon (highest point on Table Mountain)

x marks the spot, maclear’s beacon, highest point, table mountain

Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens

scabious, kirstenbosch*

Noordhoek beach sand

wave sculpted sand, noordhoek

Devil\'s Peak from Kirstenbosch

devil’s peak, view from kirstenbosch

Gulls strut their stuff, Clifton

seagulls strut their stuff (not to be outdone by the humans), clifton, cape town

* (if you know what this plant/flower is please let me know so I can caption the photo properly) thanks mum :)