You don’t… what?!

 I Don’t Like Chocolate - A graphic novel by Jesse Breytenbach

If you’re in Cape Town this Friday (8 February) you should definitely make your way over to the Albert Hall in Woodstock for the launch of Jesse Breytenbach’s graphic novel “I don’t like Chocolate“. The original artwork will be on exhibition (and for sale) and it’s bound to be beautiful! I wish I could be there, but sadly I’m 9674.79 kilometres away (give or take). 

Do you feel lucky, punk?

Amy over at Whistlepea Knits very kindly sent me a ‘You Make My Day Award’ – thanks Amy, I really appreciate it! There are so many talented people out there making beautiful things and writing intelligently on interesting subjects (see the ‘inspired & inspiring’ links over there on the left!) so I’m not going to follow the rules and “pass it on to up to ten people” but simply point you in the direction of those ‘inspired and inspiring’ links… yeah, those ones over there on the left. I’d also like to say thank you to all the visitors to this site and especially for your positive and encouraging comments on some of the work I’ve shown – these have frequently ‘made my day’. Thank you!

Animator vs. Animation

For anyone who has ever done battle with a Flash animation project, check out this great little animation by Alan Becker. (thanks to .e for the link) 

And while on the subject of animation, I’m really looking forward to seeing the ‘Fear(s) of the Dark‘ film (I’m disappointed I missed it at the Rotterdam Film Festival last Friday!). It includes work by the great Charles Burns (amongst others) and is described on the film’s website as follows:

“Six of the world’s hottest graphic artists and cartoonists have breathed life into their nightmares, bleeding away colour only to retain the starkness of light and the pitch black of shadows. Their intertwined stories make up an unprecedented epic where phobias, disgust and nightmares come to life and reveal Fear at its most naked and intense…”

A’right! (thanks to BrunoBanani for the heads-up on this one!)

Stills from ‘Fear(s) of the Dark’

The above images are stills from the film; they are copyright Prima Linea Productions and the respective artists (Charles Burns, Blutch, Pierre di Sciullo, Marie Caillou, Lorenzo Mattotti and Richard McGuire)