Damp ‘n grey 

It has been a bit damp and grey in Amsterdam recently but late yesterday afternoon, as I glanced out of the window in front of my desk, I noticed a special quality to the generally muted post-rain light. The quality, although subtle, was special enough to jolt me out of my pencil-end-chewing reverie, grab a coat, and climb up on to the roof to take a more ‘all-encompassing’ look… boy, was I glad I did! Amsterdam has so many wonderful things to offer (even when it’s damp and grey) but I had no idea I could also look forward to mid-winter sunsets like this:

Spectacular sunset, Amsterdam 24 January 2008

Spectacular sunset, Amsterdam 24 January 2008

Spectacular sunset, Amsterdam 24 January 2008

Spectacular sunset, Amsterdam 24 January 2008

Spectacular sunset, Amsterdam 24 January 2008

Adembenemend!