What goes around comes around… 

Although I haven’t shown a great deal of my own work/handmade stuff on this blog I do like to make stuff… and I do like stuff other people make! So I was very happy when an opportunity to join the PIF Exchange arose – I was lucky enough to be in time to nab a slot on Jezze’s blog and so can now look forward to receiving a handmade gift from Jezze in the next ±365 days. Can’t wait!

In return I will make the same promise to you – the first three people who leave a comment with a request to participate will receive a handmade gift from me within the next 365 days (although I’ll certainly aim to send it sooner!). I don’t know when or where the PIF (Pay It Forward) Exchange originated but as I understand it the only rules for joining are as follows:

  • You must have a blog
  • The first three people to leave a comment on this post will receive a handmade gift from me, within 365 days
  • In return you simply ‘pay it forward’ by making the same promise on your blog – spread the handmade love!

 Hare, Elephant, Armadillo

The images are from a painting (watercolour, gouache, metallic ink) I made some time ago, but which I thought neatly illustrated the circular, reciprocal and ongoing nature of the PIF Exchange project.

The hare is a homage to (OK, direct rip-off of!) the exquisite animal drawings of Pisanello (c. 1394 – 1455). I originally saw his ‘Running Hare’ as a drawing in watercolour over black chalk but I can’t find a decent image of it online anywhere, so here is his ‘The Vision of St Eustace‘ (c 1438-42) which includes that hare, forever narrowly avoiding the jaws of the greyhound hot on its heels.