I regularly walk over Regents Park Bridge, an old iron bridge that crosses from Chalk Farm in to Primrose Hill over a North London railway line. I love crossing this bridge because there is a fantastic mural along its East side of a jungly menagerie. I’ve been crossing the bridge for years and the creatures emerging from the lush purple, green and turquoise foliage are like old friends, always there to greet me with their quirky lopsided grins. I thought I’d share some of these friendly creatures with you…

Chalk Farm Bridge Creatures

Chalk Farm Bridge Creatures

Chalk Farm Bridge Creatures

Chalk Farm Bridge Creatures

You’ve got to love the expression on that bird’s face!

Chalk Farm Bridge Creatures

According to a note painted amongst the foliage the mural is the work of Annabel Hudson and was completed on 26.09.1999. It was repainted in January 2007 by Primrose Hill Community Association volunteers led by Maureen Betts.

For as long as I can remember the West side of the bridge went neglected, its many layers of ancient peeling paint, weathered rust proofing, and brightly coloured splashes of simple graffiti combined to very interesting effect, slowly but constantly changing…

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures

It has recently been painted with a new mural by artist Sinta Tantra, commissioned by Camden Council as part of a national Architecture Week:

Chalk Farm Bridge ‘Isokon Dreams’ mural

I wonder what my bridge buddies think of their new view? Although the new mural is colourful and interesting in its own way, and works well with the bridge’s angular iron supports, I think I rather miss the wabi sabi transience of before…

Chalk Farm Bridge Textures