A couple of weeks ago I began work on the ‘patchwork throw’ from Erika Knight’s Essential Crochet. It’s the project that appears on the cover of the book and I was sucked in by all that wonderful colour! In fact, the most ‘creative’ aspect of this project is probably choosing the colours. The pattern calls for “12 contrasting colours” making the initial yarn shopping expedition an opportunity to entirely immerse oneself in colour. I stood for almost a full hour gazing at the shelves and shelves of yarn in Liberty’s haberdashery department, eventually making a selection in which blue shades predominate but with a sprinkling of pinks and a red, chartreuse and olive for good measure.

Colours

I have thus far used the colours in roughly equal measure but aim to include more of the blue shades in the final piece, with the pinks, reds and greens as ‘highlights’.

As the pattern requires very little creative thought once you get going and specifies a total of 295 hexagons (and I’ll probably need to make more to achieve the correct overall size as my tension’s a bit tight… um, something to be learned there!) this is the perfect project to occupy the hands on long train journeys and while waiting in airport lounges, or for listening: to music, to birdsong, to conversation…

Should I ever manage to complete this project (295 seems a very big number at this stage in the process!) I’m looking forward to painting the room’s walls black (or perhaps just a very dark blue) which would really offset all that colour. I am, however, not looking forward to sewing in all those ends…

crocheted hexagons… plenty of ‘em